Narragansett Half Marathon (I ran 13.1 miles and can’t get a beer out of the kiddie pool?)

When I had told people I was doing this race over half of them thought I was running here:

gansettcity

However if you look it up you’d find out it was here:

easton ma

This being said it was more cooler today but not nearly cool enough for a half marathon that being said I paid to run and the show must go on.

I start the first mile not too fast but not too slow.  However at the end of mile one a bee stings me on my neck and shoulder area.  This is something that I have not have happened all together, let alone in a race!

I ran with my friend Christina for the first three and a half miles.  I then stopped for water and that was when my feet didn’t want to go one in front of the other.  Something felt odd.  I felt the sting of the bee wasn’t pleasant but it was almost gone by then.

I saw goats at Mile four.  I also realized there was a scenic beauty on this course with a few paved trails and

The Gansett van passed me by a couple of times at miles 5 and 6.

Mile seven I hit the wall and everything came crashing down.  Toes were blistered in a couple of spots.  I have a blister on my right foot the size of a quarter where my shoe had rubbed. Every shaded area was a blessing but I felt gassed.  Never was I happier to see a finish line.

Right after the race I felt like I could pass out. I ate and drank water and took what seemed forever to get back to my car (almost a half of a mile walk to the car!)

Mr Gansett can was a happy site before it all went downhill.

I changed shirts, dressed down to flip-flops,  and went back to the after party.  After that I to the after party and have a Narragansett Summer Ale. I feel that it isn’t as good as when I had it a couple of years ago.  It doesn’t have the lemony zest and the hops on it doesn’t come across so well.  I went out to get  some therapy and for a side treat I got to see the last finisher cross the finish line but not before the blow up truss had been deflated to the ground.

I get back to the party to see four large-sized kiddie pools filled with beer but the front beer coolers were not.  When I asked the volunteer/server if I could have one he said no because they shut down at Noon.  No where in any communication said that the after party would stop at noon.  The Dime a Dozen cover band was still playing at this moment.  You could have at least served beer until they were done.  The email sent out promised two beers and I didn’t get but one.

All in all I am about 75% sure that I may not run this race again, mainly because the last finisher had the opportunity to drink zero beer.

One thought on “Narragansett Half Marathon (I ran 13.1 miles and can’t get a beer out of the kiddie pool?)

  1. Pingback: From Boston to Chicago | Craft Beer and Running

Leave a Reply

