Why I Don’t But Do Recommend Streaking!

Last night  I realized that I may have bitten off more than I can chew.  I’ve decided to do four different streaks to preclude the month:

Sorry, but I will be wearing clothes during all these streaks! So what are these streaks?:

1. #Deckaday 31  100 day challenge– The Deck a day challenge was put out by the November Project for anyone who was willing to do it.  I started on September 30th and was going to stop for a few days on October 10  until the day of the Marathon but when Tourism was announced (taking a few days off) I decided to push through it. This is a challenge that is combined with the 100 x 100 challenge  which was introduced to my by my friend Neighbeers back in the summer.  I decided to wait to do this until after the Chicago Marathon but when I ran into the Deck a Day It Today (12/14/2013) will be day number 76. Wednesday January 7 will be 100!

2.#Plankaday-  I started doing this on November 1.  It makes the second fitness activity I have streaked with.  Does my core feel a lot better?  Yes!  Do I post about it enough?  Not according to the plankpolice:

3. #RWrunstreak: Runners World put out the run streak that runs from Thanksgiving to New Years day.  The only issue with this is that I could run just 1 mile each day for a total of 35 days.  Not that much to be honest.  Well there were a few races to keep me honest in doing more than just one mile including the Gobble Gobble Gobble 4 miler, Winter Classic 5k, and Miss Santa 5k to keep me honest above that level.  I’ve also decided to do the #runchathunt with craft beer to also keep this exciting.

4. #12daysofplanking:  Well this is just taking #plankaday to a whole new level.  My goal with this is that I want to include more side planks into my workout.  If I do one on each side and a regular plank each day and increase this workout by one set each day to end up doing a total of 36 planks of at least a minute long Christmas day!

5.  My Garmin needs to have 1000 miles by December 31:  This is quite self explanatory though I didn’t receive my Garmin in the mail until February 18 of this year.  I have 17 more days of the #RWrunstreak and therefore I have 17 more days to complete this mission.  I looked at the watch and I am 36.85 miles away from reaching 1000.  This being said I have to do  2.17 miles a day for the next 17 days.  Not an impossible task but it makes things balance out and doesn’t allow me to run one mile a day.

garminwatch

This all being said it really depends on what kind of person you want to become.  If you like your days off or need vacations from goals then streaks are not for you?  If you need a push and keeping fit matters then I would recommend a streak to get you started.  Will all of these streaks have an end: Yes! When: Not for sure.  But I am going to used them to make me a better and more fit of a person!

 

One thought on “Why I Don’t But Do Recommend Streaking!

Leave a Reply

